Who Are We?

Richmond Public Schools is participating in the Yale National Initiative to strengthen teaching in public schools®. We are currently building capacity for the creation of a Teachers Institute for ­Richmond.

This website includes information for administrators, teachers, and faculty and anyone interested in learning more about our local efforts and the Teachers Institute Approach.

Our 2023 Yale National Fellows are:

  • Irina Alekseeva, Open High School
  • Kirsten Craig, John B. Cary Elementary School
  • John DeReu, Franklin Military Leadership Academy
  • Aliyah Hoye, Westover Hill Elementary School
  • Amanda McMahon, Huguenot High School
  • Gwendolyn Nixon, Huguenot High School
  • José Ulises Reveles Ramirez, Huguenot High School
  • Valerie J. Schwarz, Mary Munford Elementary School